Today we went to Ping Yang nursing house and visited the old people in there.

I was little nervous and excited before we went to the nursing house. I thought these old people must have a lot of interesting stories. Maybe the communication will be the biggest problem during interview, because we didn’t have same topic.

The building is not that glorious, but it is comfortable. There are 6 floors. Healthier old people live on the first and second floor. Less health people, for example, they cannot walk by themselves or they broke their legs, they live on the rest of floors. My group visited three old people in a room. One of them is 78, the other is 87 and another is 89. Although they are old, they look health. They made me miss my grandma.

When we walked into the room, we felt a little bit shy, but we didn’t felt it anymore after we talked more. The biggest problem during the interview was the language. Although they spoke Chinese but they spoke Shanghai native language. Most of us couldn’t understand.   One of them has some problem with her ears, so she couldn’t hear our voice clearly. We asked them several questions and knew about them a little bit. Actually I was disappointed about their answers. I thought they will tell us some interesting stories when they were young, but I just knew one of them went to America for twice and that’s it. They told me they didn’t do any special or crazy thing when they were young. They said their life was peaceful. I didn’t feel any passion from them, but I understood them. The environment they lived when they were young was terribly feudal. One of them told me that her husband was chosen by her parents. I was so surprised. They didn’t go to middle school, they found a job instead of going to middle school. Their children were their whole world.

They were born in old China. They love China. I would like to visit them again in next month. I want to know more about them, such as their special experience.

I think we had a successful interview today.




Leave a Reply.