There are a lot of differences between my generation and my parents’ generation. Science and technology develop very quickly as well as the mind of people.

    In the last generation, the quality of life was not as good as my generation. According to my parents, there were telephones at home. The family which had telephone was better than most of other families. Usually, many things in the last generation were public, such as kitchens, bathrooms telephones and so on. Not like this generation, people have their own telephones, most family have at least two telephone at home.

    What’s more, the communication in the last generation was not convenient, because phones were not common. People communicated by sending letters or using public telephone. Only a few people have “BB” machine. This kind of machine can’t make phone call, but it can let you know you have phone call from others, then you should find the nearest public telephone to call back. Now, everyone has phone, some people even have more than 1 phone. Communication is more convenient now. Internet also processes a lot.

    In the last generation, internets were not as common as nowadays. When my patents were my age, they had no phones, no internet, no computers, but they had a lot of true friends.

    My parents told me, when they were my age, the people around them were most honesty and candid. Not like now, children are precocious on mind. They think more than my parents when they were my age. They are good at pretend themselves. Maybe this is what time changes.

    Children are my age don’t have to find a part-time job in my generation, neither do I, but in my parents’ generation, they had to face the problem about money. They had to find a part-time job to earn extra money, so that they could decrease their parents’ pressure.

    We also have our problems that my parent’s didn’t have in their generation when they were my age. Many people in my generation like to go aboard, so they need to face SAT, TOFEL these kind of tests. Actually, this will cause a lot of pressure. Too much pressure is one of the most serious problems we have to face in my generation. When my parents were my age, they didn’t have to face these problems.

    The world is changing, as well as our sight. People’s views of the world are also changing. In my generation, we are more interested in western culture. Our mind are more open. When my parents were my age, they couldn’t accept western culture like us. They thought develop in China is the best way. Actually, they didn’t have much information about the world except China. That’s why their mind are limited.

    The environment we stay now is different from the environment in my parents’ generation, so that sometimes we may have different view on some problems or they can’t understand me. We called it “generation gap”. For example, I think I should have my own privacy, but my parents think I am their child, so that they should know everything about me, because their parents did the same to them. I always argued about this question with them. They can’t understand me, I can’t understand them. Different environments cast different minds. When my parents were my age, they had no secrets between their parents and them. We still don’t solve this problem, or maybe this problem will stay forever, because I can’t shorten out generation gap.

    All in all, when my parents were my age, they lived less comfortable than my generation, but my generation had more pressure than their generation. Two generations have different environments and ideas, so we have generation gap.




Leave a Reply.